top of page
  • Writer's pictureMayuri Naik

Arthur Rimbaud

Updated: Sep 25, 2022

Jean Nicolas Arthur Rimbaud was a French poet known for his transgressive and surreal themes and for his influence on modern literature and arts, prefiguring surrealism.


We were supposed to read one of his poems.


FIRST COMMUNIONS

I

They're ugly, those churches in country towns

Where fifteen stupid kids smear up the wall

And listen to an ugly priest as he drones

Away-his shoes and rotting stockings smell

But through leafy branches the sun shines

In the old colors of the crude stained glass.

The stone always smells of the soil outside.

You see those piles of boulders that retain

The solemn motion of the rutting countryside,

Divide the ripening wheat from yellow lanes,

Support blue plums in trees the sun had dried,

Black knots of mulberries, and sticky vines.

Those barns have stood untouched for centuries;

Their dark interiors are cold and dank:.

The walls are hung with grotesque mysteries

Our Lady, or a martyr's bloody flanks

Still, stinking stable flies and kitchen flies

Devour old wax spilled on the sun-stained planks.


This was the poem I was allotted

As the poem talks about beliefs in god, so I had to collect audios of people giving their opinion on god and play it on different speakers loudly which would make people angry.



Then we wrote a text. I wrote a text in which I was questions the world the way poet does in the poem.


Why???? do you always scold only me and not him..


Are u an Idiot??


Can i go for sleepover?

No.

Why?? You let him go last time.


Go get my specs from there

Why should I get it always tell him to get


Can I.....

No.

Huh...whyyyy??


Sit properly like a girl

What does sit like a girl means???


Sharma ji's son came first in class , even u start studying hard now

Sharma ji's son take drugs should start taking drugs??


Don't wear shorts and sleeves less clothes

Are you my manager??


Don't leave you hair open at night, otherwise ghost will possess you

Likeee Really?????


Ye fan kisne band kiya


I saw u with a boy yesterday

Wasn't he your son??


Beta apply besan u will look fair

Why should I look fair?

Why do you even care?


Don't leave you hair open at night, otherwise ghost will possess you

Likeee Really???


Then I made drawing showing my anger towards the world.




Then we were divided into groups, we merged all our text and directed a play from it











Cast:

Rishab Debnath

Prarthna Shah

Ruchi Kalantri

Shaurya Pawar

Hansika Nagrare

Shreeraj Narwade

Mayuri Naik




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page